Twitter’s Translation Center was originally released in February 2011. They have now added six new languages bringing the total of available languages to 28.

The new languages are Afrikaans, Basque, Catalan, CzechGreek and Ukrainian. Twitter said that they received thousands of requests to add languages to the system. The six new ones were the ones with the most requests over the past year.

Twitter makes use of volunteers to help translate in the Translation Center. “Some of these volunteers live in regions where Twitter is officially blocked. Their efforts speak volumes about the lengths people will go to make Twitter accessible and understandable for their communities, " wrote the company in its official blog.

The company went on to thank all of the volunteers for helping Twitter to be more widely available. As one of the world’s most popular social networking platform, Tweets can now go out to thousands more users because of their efforts.